Log in

Star Prize for Rural Broadcasting

Win a trip to the IFAJ congress

The Star Prize Award for Rural Broadcasting in NSW recognises excellence in radio, television and online journalism in the rural sector. The winner will have the opportunity to network with the world’s top agricultural journalists at the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) congress.

New and continuing members of the Farm Writers’ Association of NSW are invited to enter a story in the following categories:

  • Television: piece produced primarily for broadcast on television.
  • Radio: piece produced primarily for broadcast on radio.
  • Online broadcasting: web-based report produced primarily for broadcast via internet (must incorporate either a video or audio component as a key element).

The overall state winner will attend the IFAJ Congress.

Farm Writers’ Association of NSW will cover the cost of registration (accommodation is included) for the IFAJ Congress and a contribution to air fares (directly to the event) to the maximum value of $5,000. If the NSW winner wins the national prize, Farm Writers will convert the NSW award to a contribution towards the cost of pre- or post-congress tours or other congress expenses.

Winners across each of the categories at state level will represent NSW in the Australian Star Prize for Rural Broadcasting. The national award winner will also attend the IFAJ congress.

The successful entry in each category at a national level will represent Australia in the IFAJ Star Prize for Broadcast Journalism, to be announced during the congress.

Eligibility to enter:

To be eligible, the entry must:

  • Be a story of broad agricultural interest.
  • The story may be the work of more than one journalist.
  • Have been broadcast/ uploaded via television, radio or the internet.
  • Be a single story. Providing multiple pieces that make up a series is not allowed. In such a situation, select one story from the series to enter.

The deadline for entries will be advised when the awards open each year.

Click here to join the Farm Writers’ Association of NSW.

For more information contact Ben Waters: or 02 8247 8019.

© 2020 All rights reserved

Site by

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software